The Angel in a Trench Coat – A Christmas present

img_20161225_125606
For Portlend, My Angel – Brenden Davis 2016

I once heard tell of an angel on earth

Upon hearing a tale, inside I felt a feeling being birthed

One of yearning, curiosity, confusion and hurt

See a lonely young I, found love absurd

Yet a meeting did occur on a weekend morn

At the turn of a corner a light started to form

In my dark sea of despaired thoughts and emotions ashore

The heard tale of the angel wasn’t a tale anymore

A bright light made of color blasted light through the dark

Two eyes made of ebony pierced my soul into a spark

A shock of reality bringing my train of love out of park

Out of all, she couldn’t choose I, unless I hit the mark

Weeks it took to approach the bright light

My eyes had been blinded by life’s explosive plight

But one fateful day my courage spread it’s wings and began to take flight

A gaze into the soul, piercing strong eyes caused me to conjure all of my might

Humor I summoned, to make my first approach

My hands wet and shaky, I resembled a ghost

But confidence rose like a fever, I gave insecurities a roast

As this angel so bright couldn’t pass me by like most

Here’s where I feel shocked, where I have to take note

The angel is sitting next to me a year later, I feel need to gloat

How I won her favor, what I said to sail her boat

Was, “You should come over later, wearing only a trench coat”.

BRENDEN DAVIS

DECEMBER 25th 2016

13241253_1409656845718491_7616404078796859236_n

Leave a comment